A little about my new home.

IMG_0297.JPG

I love that I moved tens of thousands of miles across the world, just to find myself living in another college town. The university is a 5 minute walk across a little wooden bridge, one that you think is only for people but in fact is also for motorbikes. Speaking of motorbikes, motorbike taxis are very popular here and what is a mystery to me is how the Thai women look so poised on the back of one of them while they are literally holding on to nothing.

What are the basics that I’ve learned since I’m moved here…lets see.

  • Tesco Lotus is life. I went and bought everything I needed to make my home feel a little more like a home and spent 4,400 Baht ($125). My purchases included towels, rugs, laundry hampers, a lamp, extension chords, a garbage can, hangers, laundry soap, hand soap & cleaning supplies and snacks. And they have a food court where I got some delicious Phad Thai.
  • 7-11 is way cooler outside of the USA. Besides normal things like food & drinks, need to pay your utilities/energy bill? 7-11! Need to pay for your plane/train/bus ticket? 7-11! Need more texting/minutes/data on your phone? 7-11! Overheating because its 90+ out? They got AC! Basically, it’s a life saver 🙂
  • They drive on the other side of the road & the other side of the car than us.
  • Their road rules seem much more like road suggestions. But with that being said, they definitely all know what they’re doing and seem to be master drivers. Oh yeah and pedestrians most definitely do not have the right of way.
  • Mai pen rai! Roughly translated into don’t worry/it’s fine, it definitely seems like a way of life for Thai people. I actually realized that I somehow was brought up with a similar mind set, and while this was somewhat annoying to many people back home (people always saying ‘make up your mind or take a side or say what you want’), it is actually embraced here! I am right at home, at least in that aspect 🙂
  • Many people do not speak English here, but I have really experienced how far a willing attitude, a smile and hand gestures can get you.
  • Everything is so affordable here compared to the U.S., but at the same time, I am also making less than I would be back in the states. So I do think in the end, things kind of even out.

Those are just some of the basics. I am in the process of learning how to cross the street like a local (aka so I don’t look like I’m in an advanced level of Frogger), not get caught in the downpour/extreme heat without an umbrella, walk to work without sweating profusely and greet the right people the right way (the Thai way). There is a lot of new things to remember but everyday I get a little more comfortable here.

That’s all for now,
Sawatdee kha!

 

3 Replies to “A little about my new home.”

  1. It sounds like you are having a grand time. Thank you for doing this blog. I love it! ❤️

    Like

Leave a Reply

