“All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us” J.R.R. Tolkien

It’ll almost be 4 weeks since we boarded that plane for Thailand and it feels like it’s been so much longer than that. It’s funny how slowly time moves in the beginning, but I know that when the year is over, it will feel like it flew by.

Being away has really made me realize how lucky I am to have the friends I do back home. It is harder than I thought it was going to be to keep in touch with them, and some days I wake up really missing them. S/O to everyone at home ❤

img_4123img_0129img_0027

I know one thing I have learned to appreciate is how beautiful every day can be if you keep your eyes and your mind open. I hope that no matter where I am in my life, I remember this. The only thing stopping today from being great is my perception. Sure, it could completely suck if I focused on the fact that I am constantly sweating, I can’t have tacos, I have 28 mosquito bites, my bed is not comfortable, I can never communicate with anyone or that I am almost always getting run over by motorcycles. Back home, one of those things could have put me in a bad mood. Here, I can’t afford to be upset over those things since they happen every single day.

Hmm besides some self discovery what else has happened…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ayutthaya! The city is only 45 minutes away from where I live, but total travel time was probably 2+ hours. We took the bus to Future Park, got in a minivan to Ayutthaya and then a tuk tuk to our hostel. Three new forms of transportation checked off my list in 2 hours! We went to 3 different ruins which were all beautiful, I got to see the famous buddha head that grew into the tree roots at Wat Maha That. For those who were wondering, Ayutthaya was founded in 1351 by King U Thong. The city went on to become the second Siamese capital, estimating a population of 1,000,000 by 1700 CE. In 1767, the city was destroyed by the Burmese army, which resulted in the collapse of the city. Now, the ruins are preserved as part of the Ayutthaya historical park, designated as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Teaching! I am now in my second full week of teaching, which has been challenging but definitely fun and fulfilling! I have four lectures: 3 English for Communication and 1 English Conversation. Each class has roughly 50 students, all with varying English capabilities. Since I am at a university, their material can be pretty challenging and often times, I find it difficult to explain. Here, their classes are FOUR hours long with maybe a 10 minute break in the middle, but they only meet once/week. Besides teaching, we also do something called Speaking Corner 8 hours/week, which is basically just a time for students or faculty to come and practice English with us.

img_0541Markets! Literally after school & home, I think I spend the most of my time at markets! I go at least once a day. For someone as indecisive as me, it almost has too many choices. But I’m not complaining! My normal meals for a day consistent of: overnight oats w/ banana for breakfast, salad or spring rolls from this really sweet mother daughter duo at the market + some kind of fruit & then some kind of rice/veggie/chicken combination for dinner (from the market). Other market favorites are fried scallion pancakes, fresh fruit/veggie smoothies & phad thai.

 

That is all for now!
Sending lots of love to those back home!

 

5 Replies to ““All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us” J.R.R. Tolkien”

  1. Sione, I LOVE your photos and descriptions which almost make your experience mine, too!

    Like

    1. Thank you Nancy! I just saw your comment, I really appreciate all of your support 🙂 Wish you, Georgia and the family were here too!

      Like

  2. Sounds like things are going great overall! Excited to keep reading your updates!

    Like

  3. We live in Chiang Mai and we have really really great tacos here (Salsa Kitchen). There are more than a few Mexican restaurants here… Hope you find one where ever it is that you are.

    Like

Leave a Reply

