Peace out, 2016 ✌️

This is one of those diary posts I talked about writing in the beginning of the year, more for me than for you. It is still January 1st here so before the day ends, I wanted to do some reflecting on 2016 and goal setting for 2017.

I made my own top 9 photos from 2016 to start with.

image1 (4).JPG

✨Beautiful Camila was born & I got to see Lisie become a mother 👶
✨ Azzeddine became a citizen 🇺🇸
✨ I made strides in the gym 🏋
✨ I saw my cousin graduate HS & some of my greatest friends graduate college 🎓
✨ I traveled! Las Vegas, Hawaii & San Fran ✈️
✨ I moved to Thailand to teach English! 👋

Amongst all the good, my family lost someone very important to us (love you Uncle John) and I watched as people I love battled various forms of illness. It also was another year lacking social justice; another year of worrying about the safety and health of my family, friends and people across the world.

Overall, I feel really blessed to have the life I do: the family, friends, community, job, privileges and memories. Every year when the New Year comes around and I get sucked in to setting resolutions, they always have to do with self love, self care, getting out of my own way, not making decisions in fear and making plans for the future. So leading up to 2017 the past week, I have been asking myself the same questions. What are my goals for 2017? What do I want to do in 2017? What did I not like in 2016 that I want to change?

Well, for the first time in my adult life that I can remember, I am genuinely and completely happy with my life and with myself. Instead of a list of things I need to do, this year, I have a list of things I need to keep doing.  Keep being present, keep putting myself first, keep putting energy into the relationships I care about, keep treating yourself with kindness. That is such a great feeling!

I have managed to set some flexible goals for myself for 2017:
– Travel: I have a list of countries I want to go to before I leave Thailand so, my goal, is to go to all of them. Myanmar, Laos, Vietnam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Singapore, India and the Philippines.
– Photography: I re-found my love for photography when I moved to Thailand and it really makes me happy. I want to continue to capture the important moments to share with my family and friends that aren’t here with me.

2016 was an incredible year. I am so excited for 2017 and to see what it will bring for myself and my loved ones.

Byeeeeee 2016!

Leave a Reply

