A Day In The Life Of Ajarn Sione/Teacha Nay Nay

I decided for this next blog post, I would document my day to give those back home a glimpse into my day to day super glamorous life.

Day of the week: Thursday

8:00AM – Good morning sunshine! My morning routine takes about 40 minutes and consists of laying in bed for 25 minutes contemplating life, choosing a black (all government employees have to wear black or white for a year in honor of King Bhumibol Adulyadej’s passing) outfit for work, filling up my water bottle with cold water, making a smoothie, drinking the smoothie, making sure I don’t smell bad, checking that I look presentable and then heading out.

8:40 AM – My walk to work can take anywhere from 10 to 20 minutes, depending on how daring I am feeling that day. Walking to work includes crossing three roads, which means I have cheated death three times by 9:00am, every day. Crossing the street here is not easy but every morning I do it successfully, I feel really bad ass.

 

9:00 AM – Sign in. I wonder if this is the right folder?

*I teach 3 lectures this semester: Tuesday morning, Thursday afternoon and Friday afternoon. My daily schedule changes every week, depending if I’m teaching, what I’ve been scheduled for and if I’m covering another teacher’s class.

When I’m not teaching, you can find Teacha Nay Nay (me) at her cubicle! Some serious work takes place in this 3×3 space…jk I don’t actually work that hard here (if you couldn’t tell by now).

11:30 AM – Go downstairs to pick out my lunch. Many buildings here have little outdoor stores on the first floor or in the parking lot that sell cooked food, ramen, coffee, snacks, water, etc. and even though no one ever said this, I feel like they keep track of where I spend my baht so I feel like I have to spread the love (money) equally. Lunch is usually some kind of meat and rice. I say some kind of because I very rarely actually know what I’m eating. Thailand is not the place for picky eaters…

1:00 PM – Class! On Thursdays I teach 49 first year college students different conversational English topics. They are pre-chosen by the book we are required to follow and there are some RIDICULOUS (and by ridiculous, I mean boring) topics. Today, I am teaching Unit 8: At Home Lesson C: Do you mind…? and Lesson D: Home Habits. Riveting stuff here folks…

*Lectures are supposed to last 4 hours…which would mean 5pm ending time. But I am normally chucking the deuces & walking outta there by 3:00 easy. My favorite part of the day (and probably my student’s also) is when I say “Ok class is over, see you next week! Bye!” And they say “Bye teacher! We love you!”. I fully understand that they only love me because I let them leave 2 hours early but hey, let me live!

4:00 PM – Time to go home! But first? Snack time. Snack time varies depending on who is selling what between school and home. There’s this one woman who sells these baby crepes that are rolled like mini burritos and are wrapped around quail egg and ground pork which are SOGOOD but its hit or miss if she’s there or not. So if I don’t see her, sometimes I get sali (pear) or supparot (pineapple) or noodles (ramen).

Walking Street! An on campus market that is open on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays.

6:00 PM – Walk to the market to get dinner. Dinner is almost always pork spring rolls (ya’ll…these spring rolls are out of this world amazing) and something else to go with it. Like, a waffle. Or, cantaloupe. Or, again, something else unknown but…delicious.

I force myself to do one productive thing a day. Usually, that’s cleaning. Sweeping, mopping, dusting, dishes or laundry. But other times, that just means showering (DONT JUDGE ME) or shaving or painting my nails.

After that busy (sarcastic) day, what do I do, you ask yourself? Well it usually consists of me, lying in bed, watching a show/season on Netflix and asking Google some really smart questions. If I’m really feeling motivated, I’ll end the night with some yoga, music and writing.

Thanks for reading! You now have seen a glimpse into a normal day for me here. Life is treating me pretty well on the other side of the world and I feel very blessed to have the opportunity to live, work and travel in Thailand.

Next blog post: A Tale Of Two Farang In KL!!!

2 thoughts on “A Day In The Life Of Ajarn Sione/Teacha Nay Nay

  1. Oh my darling Sione, I so enjoyed this. It is wonderful to see what one of your days looks like. I LOL’d at the crossing the street part! You are a badass but be careful!
    You sound like an awesome teacher. And the food sounds amazing 🙂 Glad you are enjoying your time there! I will send over any Netflix recommendations I have! Love you ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

